A Humble Frontier

Dino71

Caveat emptor: This is my first review and I am a novice when it comes to FPs.

Introduction

About 6 or 7 weeks ago, a neighbor was holding a garage sale and I was looking for some tools which he might put on sale. As luck would have it, he had a basket of trinkets and I spied a few pens lurking in that patch of stuff. There were a bunch of Pilot G2s but I saw a pair of Parkers packed in clear plastic cases. I took a look at both and discovered they were Frontier FPs. Neither came with ink and it appeared these pens were never used at all.

I bought both. One had a black barrel. The other came in blue. The black one was expropriated by my boss but the blue is still with me and is the subject of this review.

Appearance & Design 5/10

The Frontier has a rather straightforward look. Being a kid in the 70s, I remember pens clipped to the shirt pockets of grownups and this Parker looks a lot like those pens. I wouldn't go as far as to call it a classic look, but it is something between vintage and retro.

The cap is brushed stainless steel. The finish is even and I could find no dings or wear. The barrel is a glossy blue resin which is semi-translucent. It looks opaque but in the right light, you can see the cartridge inside the barrel.

All in all, it is a conservative looking instrument. It won't set your heart on fire, but it does not seem out of place at work.

Construction & Quality 7/10

The pen has a spartan, but not cheap, feel to it. The cap is fit well to the barrel and snaps on and off with authority. Not bad. The section is coated in some type of rubber, which has a bit of give or cushioning. So far, this has not served as a dirt or lint magnet but I've only been using this pen for about 6 weeks.

The pen appears to be built well enough for its target market, but I would not want to drop it either.

Weight & Dimensions 8/10