Edison Pearl In Purple Web Celluloid

Kaustic

post-41188-0-79090500-1318380080.jpg

I just received this wonderful pen. I have never done a review before so bare with me.

First Impressions:

My jaw hit the ground! The burgundy leather pen case was exquisite, and then I opened the box to view a pen that in most pictures is greatly understated. All the photos I had seen gave the pen a black appearance with a slight view of the purple webbing. The presentation of the pen was great, and Brian deserves all the kudos that he receives from his customers.

Appearance & Design:

As I said before, this pen has always show in photos as black with a very subtle purple pattern. However, the reality of this material is that it is incredibly lively and detailed. The photos I am providing do not have the professional touch as many of Edison's Flickr galleries, but I was successful in capturing the details of this celluloid. I also noticed in the regular photos of this material little white specks on the barrel and cap looking like lint or dust. What these spots really are is a series of sparkling flecks imbedded in the celluloid like veins of silver. It is truly wonderful! This is probably the most unassuming material photographed in the Edison arsenal, yet this material IMHO is the most impressive to behold in person. The Pearl variant of Edison's pens is a small pen slightly bigger than a Nakaya Piccolo with a curved section for your fingers akin to that of an Everest Skyline which I adore. The difference between this Edison and most fp's is that the threads for the cap and removing the section are an extremely tight pattern allowing for more threads in the same amount of space compared to other pens. This means it takes longer to unscrew the section and cap, but it also means that these components are extremely tight and secure. I like this. Along with the immaculate rhodium clip and plated gold nib bearing the Edison insignia, this pen is the most beautiful thing I own!