Visconti Homo Sapiens M Nib

saltypete

I am very new to the world of fountain pens and I will be the first to admit that my experience is limited. However being a newbie gives me the chance to write a review without too many preconceptions or ingrained biases which some long time fp users may have.

When I joined Fountain Pen Network one of the first reviews I read was for the Visconti Homo Sapiens. The interesting choice of material and the gorgeous two-tone nib appealed to me and I decided that one day I would own one of these pens. That day came a little sooner than I expected, and on Friday I took delivery of a Homo Sapiens. Below are my thoughts on this beautiful writing instrument.

I should firstly note that because of my inexperience with fps I have only 4 pens from which to make my comparisons. They are a Parker IM (F Nib), Waterman Expert (F Nib), Waterman Carene (F Nib), and a Pelikan Souveran 800 (F Nib).

1. Packaging and Box

Upon opening the package it was clear that the packaging on this pen was presented far better than any of my other pens. Yellow Visconti cardboard outer with a faux leather clamshell case inside. The case itself holds the pen, a bottle of Visconti Ink, cleaning cloth (which I have read is impregnated with a substance to clean the bronze fittings), a book with mini DVD, and a 'nib shaped' bookmark. There is a drawer below the main part of the case that holds an instruction book and has the pen's serial number in it. All around I was impressed with the presentation of this pen.

http://i620.photobucket.com/albums/tt290/tooflogged/ViscontiHomoSapiens002.jpg

http://i620.photobucket.com/albums/tt290/tooflogged/ViscontiHomoSapiens003-1.jpg

[/b]2. The Pen Itself[/b]