Hi From Bangkok - Need Advice For First Fountain Pen

Namwan

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to fountain pens, but I've always been fascinated by the looks of it, and have only done extensive research today.

I work as a reporter for a local newspaper, so I have to use a pen five days a week for an average of an hour per day. I've never used a fountain pen before, and I've only used ballpoint pens (0.7-1 mm) for note-taking. I don't know any reporter who uses a fountain pen, so I'm wondering if they are actually suitable for note-taking? Today I read a lot of articles and threads and almost all of them contained very beautiful pictures of handwriting, which must have taken a long time to write. On the other hand, a journalist does not care about handwriting at all, and what they write is only for themselves to read. Then the notebook is thrown away when it is all used up.

Today I tried using my mother's 1 mm gel pen and I liked the flow very much. I think it's faster to write with because it needs less pressure than a ballpoint pen. I think fountain pens are beautiful, and I understand that the ink is similar to the ink in the gel pen, but is it much harder to write with? And because we have to write so fast, there are always stains on my right hand, even when I use a ballpoint pen. Will sentences dry up fast enough that the ink won't stain on my hand when I reach the second line of the notebook?

Thanks in advance!

Namwan

Edited by Namwan

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Namwan

• logantrky

• Sasha Royale

• AndyHayes

:W2FPN: , Namwan!

There is a limitless selection for you to choose from! I would suggest either a Lamy Safari Al-Star or TWSBI 580. They are relatively inexpensive pens and they would be great to get your feet wet. Just keep reading around here and you will eventually find a pen that you are attracted to! :thumbup:

Hello to Bangkok!