Airmail 58C: An Attempt To Review A Fountain Pen

columela

This is my first attempt to do a review of a fountain pen. I hope that you will excuse my shortcomings .

Airmail 58C

First Impressions 8/10

I have been looking for a purple marbled fountain pen for a couple of months. After considering several options I found this indian pen site, Fountain pen Revolution. It seemed exotic so I thought it was worth giving it a try. This pen came in a well protected envelope from Delhi, India. It took about 10 days to reach me. I ordered the pen an a syringe with silicon grease as I do not know where to get that in Plymouth. First surprise was the extra pen that came with my purple pen, a serwex demonstrator pen. That is nice customer service!

Appearance 7/10

The pen is light , smelt a little bit of plastic, and it is pleasant in the hand. Well balanced when capped. I like the fact that it has its own style and does not try to copy a known western model like many chinese brands. Love the deep purple color and marble effect.

Design/size/weight 7/10

As I said before, the pen has a distinct design based in its own brand. Not similar to any western brands. Perhaps it might remind me of old british style pens like Conway Stewart of Mabie Todd. Good size, not too big or too small. Comfortable in the hand and well balanced. It measures 13 cm capped and 15,7 cm posted. It weights 18g full of ink, so it must be 14-15 empty.

Nib 8/10

The nib is a fine , steel nib. Writes well just in the first instance after inking the pen. It is a very fine nib , does not skip but requires a bit of pressure to keep the flow going. Very well suited for my minute hand writing.

Filling system 6/10