What I Do

EKE

Hi friends-

I thought I'd give you all a quick look at what I do with fountain pens. Besides journal, note and letter writing, I also use my fountain pens daily to draw. I'm an architect, and I specialize in thoughtful traditional and classical architecture. We do a lot of elaborate residential estates for affluent, interesting people. I absolutely love what I do - can't wait to get into the studio each and every day. I'm a lucky guy.

http://i646.photobucket.com/albums/uu188/ErikEvens/photo-14.jpg

I discovered a few years back how wonderful it is to draw with a moderately wet fountain pen on tracing paper. The paper architects usually use for quick sketching is often called "sketch paper" or "flimsy". Its a fairly thin, but highly burnished, smooth vellum-like tracing paper that comes on rolls, and we just tear off pieces to draw on. It's everywhere around the office, you are never more than a few feet from a roll of it. It is not very absorbent, so it will take a lot of ink without bleeding, and its so smooth to write on.

So I spend most of my day drawing with fountain pens, sketching out floor plan studies, ideas for details for buildings, furniture designs, facade studies. I like to draw mainly with black or sepia inks, and medium nibs. My current standard drawing inks are Noodler's Dark Matter, which on the flimsy looks like a nice dark warm grey - very pleasing to the eye (see photo above) - and Omas Sepia, which looks vintage and makes my drawings look like something from the drawing board of Thomas Jefferson. When I'm working I'm never without one of my pens. If someone tries to hand me a Sharpie or another felt tip, I politely refuse and pull out a proper writing instrument. ;)

Here's a few things from my desk this morning:

A floor plan study for a Spanish Colonial house. This was a quick pen study for the plan, that was colored using xylene markers for a preliminary presentation to our client. The notes were added in Photoshop.