REVIEW: Montblanc William Faulkner

QM2

http://queenmargot.com/Faulkner1.jpg

Montblanc William Faulkner

2007 Writers Edition

After a half a year without pen acquisitions of any kind, I received the Montblanc William Faulkner as a

Winter Holiday gift from my husband. Having gone without a new pen "for so long", I was even more

excited about the Faulkner than I would otherwise have been. My favourite Montblanc pens are those

with the classic "domed top" shape of the 1920s-1930s models, and the Faulkner is a somewhat more

modern version. Though I am not crazy for Faulkner as a writer, I recognise his historical significance

in American literature and I love the beauty of the pen in its own right.

http://queenmargot.com/Faulkner2.jpg

Looks and Design

The first thing that struck me about the Faulkner when I received the pen, was its resemblence to the

contact prints from the film negatives we had just developed. The silvery metal and the gray-brown

resin come together in a surprisingly warm and inviting manner, evoking the nostalgic look of vintage

black and white photographs.

http://queenmargot.com/Faulkner3.jpg

The resin portion of the pen is as difficult to describe as it is to capture on camera. Having seen

several of these pens, I will say that the colour does vary greatly. On some pens it is a flat brown, while

on others it is transluscent and swirly, with more of a green tone. The pen I received is the latter version,

which made me very happy as I love such unusual, murky shades. The colour of the resin on mine

resembles a dark khaki green, and is full of rich swirls and amber highlights.

The platinum finish metal overlay on the cap and barrel is horizontally ribbed - a texture that is visually

interesting and subtle to the touch. Montblanc refers to the design as a "ring structure" and it is meant

to echo the modernism of Faulkner's writing. Though I like the platinum finish, I would have preferred it