Newbie with an old Waterman pen...

ElaineB

Hi, this is my first post here, but I've been reading the board for about a week now. (I bought Kendall J.'s green Esterbrook earlier this month, which is how I found my way here to the forum.)

I just won this pen on Ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...item=6505263797

And now I need some sage advice from people who deal with old pens regularly. I'm a fountain pen user for most of my life, but never used anything but inexpensive modern models. But lately I've really been itching to try an older hard rubber pen with a more responsive nib. And tonight, I just happened to see this auction about to close with a $10 final bid. I'm no expert, but that seemed pretty low for an old Waterman, even if the pen was a junker and could only be used for parts. There was no time to do any research, so I threw in a bid and waited those last minutes until the auction ended.

Well, surprisingly, I won it. I'm kind of excited, but I'm also a little worried now. I was looking around web sites after I'd won the auction, and it's possible this pen might be worth something. Trouble is, I was kind of planning to resac and toodle around with it myself. I don't have a lot of money and I didn't do this as an investment. I was just hoping to find an old pen I could experiment with -- without feeling like I was destroying something collectible.

And now, I'm wondering if I should bring it to a restorer instead? If I had it restored, do you think it would be worth more than the restoration costs + auction fee combined? If so, perhaps I should restore it, sell it, and keep looking for old uglies that still write well. What would you do?

Thanks for any advice,

Elaine

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ElaineB

• Maja

• KCat

• KendallJ

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Elaine - I really don't have any advice on this more a question to add to your questions.