The gold plating is coming off !

Underskoterskan

Lads and ladies !

The goldplating on my M200 nib is coming off. I noticed it when cleaning the pen earlier today, the silverish steel is becoming more and more visible and now you can see the that the plating has disappeared at the breather hole and along the slit down to the tip. I've been using this pen more or less on a daily basis for several years now and it has always been inked with "friendly" inks such as Waterman Blue-Black/Florida Blue or Pelikan 4001 Köningsblau.

I don't think it really matters when it comes to the function of the pen, it's after all relatively new and advances in modern metallurgy makes me think that the risk of rust is rather non-existant so it's merely a question of aesthetics in my humble opinion. I have several other M200s, and a bunch of pens in the M400-M800 range aswell but this particular pen is...well, it's special. :embarrassed_smile: It was my first "real" pen, once given to me as a gift in high-school. Has this happened to any of you fellow FPNers aswell ? I assume the gold plating must be very, very thin on the M200.

Regards

Undersköterskan

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• piembi

• Dutchpen

• Underskoterskan

• hbquikcomjamesl

It does happen sometimes. Bear in mind the M200 nib can be replaced, new, for a whopping $25.

I'd say, continue to enjoy your fine writer.

"how do I know what I think until I write it down?"

I have an old style M200 (pre 1989) with the same issue and it writes absolutely fantastic. I believe this is a cosmetic issue only, and I don't think yours is an isolated case, especially if it has had a lot of use over the years.

I have an old style M200 (pre 1989) with the same issue and it writes absolutely fantastic. I believe this is a cosmetic issue only, and I don't think yours is an isolated case, especially if it has had a lot of use over the years.