Ancient Propelling Pencil

Writer01

There are times when it's nice to walk around a field. Sometimes I do it with a metal detector, just for fun. I live in a medieval village, and my field has been worked for hundreds of years, so you never know what you might find. Once I found a lovely little toy pistol. Once a lump of harrow, once a ploughshare. But once I found this in my hedge:

post-22293-1225310436_thumb.jpg

As you can see, it's a delightful little pencil. I guess early twentieth century, although I'm no expert, and a lively little tool to use. There's a logo on the front of the clip, which seems to be a J and F intertwined - whether the J is first or the F, I have no idea. On the rear of the main barrel (is that the term?) there's an inscription - SILVRIX 332.

post-22293-1225310445_thumb.jpg

The mechanism seems to work fine, still. There were leads inside it, and they still functioned when I first tried it. It did need cleaning, mind. The darned thing was about four inches underground. That may explain some of the scratches.

post-22293-1225310453_thumb.jpg

In short, though, it's a lovely little device. I am sure that a farmer about eighty years ago was kicking himself when he realised he'd lose this no doubt valuable and valued little pencil. Hopefully I'll be able to carry on using it myself for some little while, too. It really is a nice little tool.

Any ideas where it may have come from? I have an inkling that it may be French from the 1920s, but that's only a gut feel. All comments gratefully received.

Mike

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Writer01

• FrankB

• thibaulthalpern

• eilu

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

WOW... a great find indeed. AMAZING.

Although it does make me think what will happen in the future when our descendants turn up lumps & lumps of plastic pens & pencils... will they think the same or go "My god, what were they thinking back then??"

Dropbox online file storage