Graduate Student (Berkeley)

Melnicki

This sucks! I'm spending my scarce fellowship on fountain pens and inks! There's no end to it! Damn you, inventor of Paypal! You make it so easy to buy on impulse!

No, really, it's okay... I rarely spend money anyway (would you believe I dig loaves of bread out of the dumpsters in the back of the many fine Berkeley bakeries!!! so much goes to waste!!!)

And, to boot... if I wasn't discovering all these FP message boards this week (gotta get some reassurance that I'm not crazy, or at least I've got accomplices), I would be studying hard, because studying involves note-taking, which involves writing, which involves using the pens!!! FP's have increased my eagerness to study.

About me: I'm a graduate student (2nd year, getting a Ph.D., studying microbiology and photosynthesis)... [i really need a green ink for photosynthesis stuff!] I have my qualifying exam coming up in three weeks... So all I do is sit at my desk and study these days...

I fell in love with FP's through Sensa. I had touched one of the grips at a counter, and then discovered Ebay (and shopping and paypal) and then discovered the Meridian ("fountain pens, how curious", I thought to myself). But the real kicker was Noodler's inks. I'm in trouble.

What I've got: Two fine Sensa Meridians, a medium Dancheron (okay, it's cheap), and a green Esterbrook. And a Shaeffer Javelin (yuck) (+ Two Kaweco Sport ink rollers, investigating the ink ball phenomenon, see my separate post about that).