duke fountain pens

d.marcus

I am relatively new in fountain pens and I was wondering if anyone has tried the Duke fountain pens. The one on ebay are between 10.00 and 25.00 dollars. What do you like about them and would you recommend them to a new user as myself?

D.marcus B) B) B)

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• TheNobleSavage

• Apollo

• d.marcus

• A2JC4life

Greetings d.Marcus and welcome to FPN.

I heard of Duke but I pretty much wrote them off as more junk pens from Chine. Well, last year at the LA pen Shoe, that all changed for me. There was a lady there selling Duke fountain pens and she was letting people dip and try out any pen they wanted. Well, the pen that I bought is the Duke Gold Medal. Yes, I paid quite a bit more than $25.00. Here is a link to my review on the Duke Gold Medal http://fountainpenreview.blogspot.com/2005...dal-review.html

The nibs on these pens are very very nice!!! It has a super smooth 2 tone 14kt gold nib. They seem to come only in a medium and the medium is on the finer side of Medium. The Duke pen company in general IMHO is the top tier in Chinese fountain pens.

I also have what is called the Duke Chiefton, it has an odd 10kt gold nib. I never seen a 10kt gold nib before but it is extremely springy. The pen I really would like to have is the Duke Bright Pearl http://www.hisnibs.com/bright_pearl.htm I love the material that the pen is made of. Another pen I want to buy is the Duke Columbus FP http://www.hisnibs.com/columbus.htm It is kind of a hybrid VP looking pen. Anyways, Duke does make some higher tier pens with good nibs. Yes, you will have to pay a few dollars more, but IMHO they are worth it!!!

TNS

Check Out my Fountain Pen and Ink Review Sites

Fountain Pen Reviews

Ink Reviews