Parker Duofold Chocolade Pinstripe

klemenv

Initially I wanted to buy Moresi No.2 pen from Tom Westerich. This is the pen, made from very same celluloid as Delta Venezia. By the time my birthday arrived, Moresi was sold out. So I decided for Parker Duofold as I wanted to have something that would remind me as a piece of history. I am studying my MSc in Finance, so Pinstripe colour goes together. It is kind of "banking theme". It also looks "professional". As I already had Omas pen, I wanted Duofold, because it has similar arrow designed nib. Kind a "want to try original" feeling.

http://static.flickr.com/38/92678620_db34b6f031.jpg

I bough this pen from Jean Michel Lewertovski, who was kind enough to order custom nib from Sanford for me. I have asked for italic nib and I have received fine italic nib #98.

http://static.flickr.com/12/91436838_3fedcba4f5.jpg

Nib is fantastic. Variation of line is great, almost crisp. Nib however, it is rather cursive italic. As Richard and John are living on other side of Atlantic, this nib is as good as it gets. Feed is plastic and is probably only thing, that I would change. This combo works best with PR inks.

Finish of the pen is great. I am a little spoiled, I miss celluloid. But other than that, finish is great. Black colour on both ends are making bold statement.

Both, pen and BP were sent in massive walnut box. Some may thing it is over the top. Personally, I was glad, as I didn't have any box to store pens. At the same time, I would be reluctunt to pay list price.

It is standard Converter/Cartridge pen. Converted doesn't hold a lot of ink. On the other hand I like black section around the nib. It makes life much easier compared to Omas or Tibaldi.

This pen has become my personal everyday writter. Partly, because it was my girlfriend gift, partly, because nib is just awesome.

http://static.flickr.com/22/92678586_a6b3227dfd.jpg

Here is my rating:

Finish: 4,5 nibs

Apperance: 5 nibs

Nib: 5 nibs

Filling: 4 nibs