Help a teacher choose a pen

Sean Mac

Hi all. I'm a newbie here. I teach 8th graders (and love it!).

I'm looking for some help selecting a fountain pen to use to grade my students papers. I currently use a Waterman Charleston rollerball, but the refills have gotten to be a bit expensive for me, as I go through them very quickly. Also, though I have very limited experience with a fountain pen, I really enjoying using one.

Most of my students complete homework on inexpensive notebook paper. What type of fountain pen should I be looking for? Is there one size nib that would work better than another on this type of paper?

One more thing, my wife will kill me if I spend more than $100 on a pen. . . . so, any recommendations at that price point, or below, would be much appreciated.

Thanks for your help.

Sean

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Apollo

• Macuser

• Goodwhiskers

• Sean Mac

Top Posters In This Topic

If you like the Waterman Charleston, have you tried the Charleston fountain pen? I love the styling, and have heard good things about it on the forum!

Hello Sean, and welcome to FPN. There are lots of good and stylish fountain pens you can find under $100. Like Mac said, you could always get a Charleston fountain pen to go with your rollerball, but if you want something a little different you can't go wrong with the Pelikan M215. It's a little smaller than the Charleston fountain pen, but it's a solid workhorse of a pen that holds alot of ink and is ultra reliable.

http://i129.photobucket.com/albums/p202/Apollo3000/es-canary-islands-flag1s.gif Bendita mi tierra guanche.

If you want a nice looking, nice writing pen for under $100, then I would think of Taccia. The cheaper notebook paper will probably be prone to bleed a bit more so unless you are adverse to it, a Fine nib would probably do you better.