Antique store browsing.

Gatorade

I had a couple minutes to kill today and stopped by an antique store and a vintage store and was checking out some of thier pens. I also killed two birds with one stone as I was also able to check out some DE razors and straight razors for my shaving experience as well. Another post and deffinatly another board.

So I saw quite a few out there. Waterman, Esterbrook (SP?) Parker, and a couple others.

Now I am fairly new to pen collecting but have been using a pen or pencil for most of my life :D I have used FP's for years but they have been the cartridge ones and all have been bought new. These were mostly piston fill I assume by the lever on the outside of the pen. Some ranged from $10-$125. But the thing that scared me about some of these were they were very light and looked like they had been used very hard. They were very scuffed and some of the piston filler levers were loose and dangled when you turned them upside down. I don't think that should happen but I could be wrong :blink: Also some of the nibs were bent and some looked like they had been put through a flame. I mean they were dark in some places and looked steeley in others.

So I guess what I am asking is what should I look for when browsing antique stores, flea markets and garage sales? Any thing to stay away from? I was just wanting to get into a pison filler without dropping a whole lot of cash on a new pen. Maybe I should just wait and buy from a seller who specializes in pens. So confused! :bonk:

Thanks for the input.

Best use of a pen:

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y196/Gator_b8/DANNYSICOVER.jpg

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• garythepenman

• Gatorade

• Johnny Appleseed

• snowyowl

Top Posters In This Topic