Sealing Sheaffer Triumph Section to Barrel

Daniel Shih

I've got a *hopefully* simple problem with my beloved Vac-fil Sheaffer Triumph. The barrel and section somehow came apart. There doesn't seem to be any damage to the pen; I think whatever was holding it together just came undone. After poking around the forums, I think I'm supposed to use shellac to seal the barrel and section together. Is that correct? If so, what kind of shellac should I look for at the hardware store, and how should I go about applying it? I'm a complete newbie to pen repair (and hardware stores, for that matter!), and somewhat anxious about the repair process. I'd appreciate any input. Thanks!

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Daniel Shih

• tryphon

• fountainbel

• Nottolino

Hi Daniel,

"Da book" suggests to apply some rubber cement.

I've got exellent results using colorless nail varnish on the thread.

Benefit being one can break the sealing fit easily lateron.

Wishing you succes,

Regards, Francis

Edited by fountainbel

Hi Daniel,

I had the a slightly more serious problem of a rotating nib with that pen.

I found some suggestion here in this forum, but unfortunately I cannot remember the page and chronology on my present computer do not help since I was using another one. It was something about a "triumph leaking nib".

I restored recently one of those pen and it was the very first time for me.

I'm currently using it, even if it's like writing with a nail, so stiff the nib.

So do not be afraid to do the repair yourself.

I also used some rubber cement on the thread between barrel and nib section (2 drops are enough.

Since there is also fountainbel in this discussion, I would like to congratulate with him for the very good job he did for a converter for such pens.

His job reported here

https://www.fountainpennetwork.com/forum/in...?showtopic=4887