Hi there!

Pendragon

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to the world of fountain pens, but have found the posts here at Fountain Pen Network to be most informative and helpful. I almost didn't register, as I won't have time to participate regularly for the forseeable future. The primary reason for my finally doing so is to say thank you to all the folks here.

Although I had seen some very nice fountain pens on display from time to time, I never really gave them a second thought. Ball point and roller ball pens always wrote well enough and cost only $1.50, so why change?

A few years ago, a friend mentioned that someone she knew collected fountain pens. "Collecting fountain pens? Rather surprising...people collect all sorts of things these days" I thought to myself. A few months ago, I passed a gift shop in the local shopping mall. Remembering the story of the pen collector and needing to kill some time, I went inside just to see what kind of fountain pens they had on display.

Sitting on top of the case with the pens was a stack of books titled Collectible Fountain Pens by Juan Manuel Clark. It was inexpensive and had pictures of the most amazing pens, so I purchased a copy. Its pages contained images of such beautiful objects, many are truly works of art. Even the most unadorned pens seemed to be the embodiment of quality and craftsmanship, something increasingly rare in our do-it-cheaper, throwaway society. Then on page 205 I saw a Waterman Edson, and from that moment on was determined to start writing with a fountain pen if at all possible. After seeing a pen like that, how could one not be instantly converted?