Speeno 1013

Larry T

This is my first try at a review, so please bear with me. The pen I'm reviewing is the Speeno 1013. I purchased two of them from Norman at hisnibs.com(no affiliation,just a very happy repeat customer). I know, why would you write a review on an eight dollar pen? Well, I've never run across anything quite like it before, and It's so darned neat!

The pen is tiny, only about 3 1/8 inches(82mm) closed and capped. Removing the cap reduces it's length to about 2 7/8 inches(75mm). To make it usable, the outside of the barrel telescopes to increase uncapped length to about 4 1/4 inches(108mm). The barrel is a thin 5/16 of an inch(8mm). I don't have a scale, but it is a lightweight considering it's solid, all metal, chrome over brass construction. The cap screws off, but it doesn't post. The pen fills by built in aerometric type filler. Bottled ink only for this pen.

http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a52/ircameraman/Speeno1.jpg

The picture above shows the pen closed and capped, open and uncapped, and includes a Pelikan M215 and a Pilot VP for size comparison.

http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a52/ircameraman/Speeno2.jpg

This picture shows the nib. Norman calls it an extra fine, but both of mine write more like an Asian fine. I have to tell you, I was VERY impressed with the way the first one I tried writes. It is perfectly smooth with excellent flow and no skipping no matter how fast I pushed it. I figured that I had a ringer, no way an $8 pen is going to outwrite my "real" pens. So I inked up the other one. I can't tell them apart by performance. I filled one of them with Duke blue-black, and the other with Duke black ink. Nice inks, good flow, but I can't tell the colors apart.