nibs/ new to the forum

madscot13

Hi I'm new to the forum. name is Mads.

I'm a grad student and write a heck of a lot. I am interested i the Lamy Accent. It seems like a workhorse pen and looks pretty cool. The only thing is that I can't decide between the nibs. I write fairly small- capitals are about .5 cm and I usually use A4 paper and it looks double spaced. by the descriptions I have heard I think I should go with the extra fine nib. But I also like a black that really looks black. Does that mean I should probably step up to a fine?

I would appreciate any advice you have to give. otherwise, I've been enjoying reading the forum and gleaning as much information as possible.

thanks!

ps. I can't decide between the black rubber grip or the pear one- but that is a whole other story!

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• madscot13

• KCat

• HDoug

• Ghost Plane

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Mads and welcome to FPN!

I happen to own two Lamys ... one with a fine nib and the other with an extra fine and they both lay down a nice even line. As long as you pick the right ink, I'm sure you'd be happy with either nib and the X-F might suit your writing style best.

Todd

The purpose of life is to discover your gift. The meaning of life is to give it away. D. Viscott

http://i729.photobucket.com/albums/ww296/messiah_FPN/Badges/SnailBadge.png

I run a Lamy Studio w/EF with Waterman Black and get super results. Also, would you consider a Pilor VP? Their fine nibs are really super nice and the fine nibs are a true fine. That might seem like a strange statement but you get the idea.

JELL-O, IT'S WHATS FOR DINNER!

I have two Lamy AL-stars (same nib as the Accent) with EF nibs that lay down a line between 0.30mm and 0.35mm. My capital letters are also around 5mm, and most minuscules around half that. I think the EF will fit you. I swapped out from an F when my handwriting became smaller and the F too wide.

Hope this helps.

Doug