Michel Perchin LE Blue Serpent Fountain Pen

yachtsilverswan

Michel Perchin LE Blue Serpent Fountain Pen: Bagging an Elusive Grail Pen

Fellow pen nuts - I‘m happy to announce the arrival of my new Michel Perchin Blue Serpent LE fountain pen. This handsome pen came to me through eBay; neither of the two brick and mortar pen stores in Atlanta was able to source this pen since it was a 1997 limited edition, and is now sold out. This particular example is #40 from a total release of 250 pens. It’s NOS and has never been inked. I've been hunting for one of these little beauties for quite a few months now.

post-10075-1201924924_thumb.jpg

(photo from Michel Perchin's website)

The Blue Serpent Pen was the very first limited edition from Michel Perchin. The story of the release of this limited edition is a bit unusual. According to a Michel Perchin dealer, the edition was planned to include 500 Blue Serpent Pens, with an initial release in 1997. Much less than halfway through the edition numbers, production was halted – either because of limited sales or because the workshops were turning their focus to another new pen. In 2005, eight years after the initial release, production was restarted and the initial production numbers were completed up to a final capped edition run of 250 pens. In the initial production run, pens were numbered xx/500, anticipating a final planned edition of 500 copies. In the later 2005 completion run, the pens were engraved xx/250, signaling the final total capped run of 250 pens. My pen is engraved “040 / 250,” suggesting that my pen was part of the 2005 Completion Run, rather than part of the 1997 initial production.