F308gt4

Hello from Southern California.

Among my meager collection are a:

Pelikan M800

Montblanc meisterstruck

Namiki Vanishing Point (cool pen)

Watermans

Eversharp Skyline

Omas Extra (The plastic see-through one with steel nib)

Parker Frontier

Esterbrook

Hero (received from a chinese colleague)

Bucho-Girod (??)

Mostly mid to low value pens, since I was a poor graduate student when I began collecting them. The montblanc was a gift from my wife on our engagement, and the Pelikan was a gift on my Ph.D. graduation, and these two pens obviously have much sentimental value to me.

Unfortunately, in this modern age, we seem to do very little writing on paper anymore. Everything is word processed, and so it seems that anytime I am doing any writing, it is signing something. Ever since the popularization of the cheap ink-gel pens for notes, etc., my fountain pen usage has dropped significantly. Also, I had the nasty habit of dropping my pens, which makes them much less practical.

Recently, I dusted off my pelikan, and brought it to work. I use it mainly when signing documents like reports, SOP's, etc, and notes. I don't take it out of my office, for fear of dropping it. I'm glad to be back to using it.

I have learned that I definately prefer the modern pens to vintage, mostly because of convenience (don't leak, tend to hold more ink, some use cartridges for ease of use). As a result, my vintage pens aren't getting used. I'd consider selling them, but doubt that they would be worth enough money to make it worth the hassle.

My pelikan has a fine tip, but I am considering purchasing a medium tip. Does anyone know of a place to puchase new nibs cheaply?

Sorry for the long-windedness.

Dom

post-31-1132163109_thumb.jpg

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• southpaw

• F308gt4

• KCkc

• Dillo

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hi,

http://www.swisherpens.com has nibs.