Identification

kingfissure

Greetings! I'm new here, and honestly am new to fountain pens; this seemed like a great resource for getting started! I am an illustrator, and my goal is to try my hand (so to speak) at using fountain pens for hand-lettering. Currently I'm using a Kuretake brushpen for such things, which is not ideally suited to the task and therefore trying at times. One of my favourite authors, Neil Gaiman, recommended fountain pens for lettering tasks; I can be a little over-zealous at times, and I think I jumped the gun a little when I went ahead and bought a fountain pen on ebay without doing much research on the individual pen!

I've scanned the archives, and taken a look at some of the pen resource pages, in a quest to identify the pen in question. So far I haven't had much luck. I'm going to continue to browse the resources, but I figured I might as well plop down some images and see if any of ya'll might have any insights as to the year this pen was produced, and how this particular model stands up compared to others.

I know that it is a Waterman 52 1/2V, which makes it a slender-barrel pocket pen. It measures, according to the seller, 4 1/4" in length.

Here is an image:

http://geist.gravco.com/random/waterman_pen/MVC-082S.JPG

I have a few more images available if you click HERE.

Any help would be most appreciated!

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• kingfissure

• Maja

• KendallJ

• Johnny Appleseed

Wow, talk about jumping in with both feet. I'm not a waterman expert, but it is black hard rubber, which probably means it was made before 1930. I'm sure someone can give you exact timing.

The Erano book has a Watermans 1918 add on p. 172 with a "No. 0852 1/2V" that looks very similar (wide cap band, etc.)

Kendall Justiniano
Who is John Galt?