Valuation of a 149 Mont Blanc?

lisadc

Hi- I have been reading on how to determine how old my father's 149 diplomat pen is- I believe it's 60s-70s. How would I go about to determine what value this pen has? Is there a market for this pen?

thank you (newbie here)

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• lisadc

• Tom Kellie

• ecox

• CS388

Hello Lisa, and welcome to the Fountain Pen Network!

There's a pretty good article about the various changes to the 149 over the years at this link:

http://www.pentrace.net/penbase/Data_Retur...icle.asp?id=405

Do you have any idea when he might have received the pen? Even to the nearest decade?

Edited by Kalessin

-- Joel -- "I collect expensive and time-consuming hobbies."

INK (noun): A villainous compound of tannogallate of iron, gum-arabic and water,

chiefly used to facilitate the infection of idiocy and promote intellectual crime.

(from The Devil's Dictionary, by Ambrose Bierce)

There's a pretty good article about the various changes to the 149 over the years....
Any source on changes over the years to the internals?

Fred

Edited by FredRydr

Hi- I have been reading on how to determine how old my father's 149 diplomat pen is- I believe it's 60s-70s. How would I go about to determine what value this pen has? Is there a market for this pen?

thank you (newbie here)

Your question is a little hard to answer since we do not know the specifics, but as a general guess I would say between $250-$350 depending on condition, if you have the boxes etc, if the pen has had any parts replaced, and the year it was produced. This is a VERY rough guess without that information. Hope this helps.

Allan