Seeking help finding the perfect pen

technikolor

I'm looking for some help finding the perfect pen. I'm new to fountain pens but have tremendous respect for them. My wife is a poet and writer, more and more she's showing off her work but prefers ink over a word processor, so I was thinking that its about time she had a quality writing tool. So I'm seeking the perfect poets fountain pen but the world of pens is far more expansive than I guessed.

She's writing poetry mostly, so I think she'd like something calligraphic (assuming thats a real word) in appearance. I found some nib samples somewhere on the net and liked the more shaded look of the OB nib. But those aren't real easy to come by. I personally realy like the Cross pens, but there are no nib samples so I'm not sure just how fine fine is and how wide wide is. She does write fairly small, so I don't want to get marker grade wide but just enough to be stylish. Naturally the pen also needs to flow well and rest easy in her hand so she doesn't tire out and just grab a BIC.

But in addition to the practical matters, I want her to have a pen that has presence. Something thats she's proud to own and provoke the envy of other writers and poets when she's in a group setting. I think a ringtop would be ideal because she could wear it on a necklace/lanyard adding to the practical and femine sides alike.

The real trick is trying to find the right pen at the right price and looking on the net where I'll never get to try them out. All the pictures are beautiful but if its not practical she'll just stuff it in a drawer. I'm willing to spend up to $250 if I must, any more than that and I just can't justify it.