Hello from Flanders in Belgium !

fountainbel

Hello fellow penfreaks !

I am a 60 years old mechanical design engineer from Belgium.

I'm just retired & enjoying greatly my hobbies s.a restoring old furnuture, beekeeping, gardening, bow shooting, collecting & restoring old pocket knives and .... collecting & restoring old fountain pens.

I have a rather broad pen collection - approx.300 pens - lately aiming to specialize in Sheaffer's of the forties & fifties.

Being an engineer, my favorit pens are the Sheaffer snorkel & PFM, being in fact the most complex - through effective! - filling sytems ever made.

I have all different colors & nibwidths in my collection in the Sheaffer 'sentinel" range, except for the "Periwinkle" blue, which I am still looking for!

I also have a transparant snorkel demonstrator & the gold filled excection, the 14or 9K gold version is very hard to find & unfortunately a little over my budget.

I went through all possible repair problems on the snorkel, but succeded - with ups & downs - to make all my repairs succesfull ( as long no parts were cracked ! )

So I remain available if you are confronted with dragging snorkel problems !

Wishing all of you succes& enjoyment with your pen collection !

Kind regards, Francis

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Maja

• Elaine

• Roger

• fountainbel

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome! Ah Belgium, the land of the best chocolate on earth. (My husband would add the best beer).

My Sheaffer burgundy sentinel deluxe tuckaway is one of my favorite pens. I have a full size burgundy sentinel deluxe snorkel that needs repair. I bought it as a pen/pencil set for a great price. It's in my queue for repairs. I've never done a snorkel, so please stick around! I may need your advice when I get around to it.

Hi Francis,

Wow, 300 pens :o puts you into the "big time" category. I'm sure that Kendall will be coming in to welcome another snork fancier.