The _New York Times_ article on fountain pens

BinomialSpider

Hello, I've used fountain pens since last November, when I bought a clear plastic Lamy Safari. It was $25. Before that I used Uni-ball Vision pens. I went through about a pen every two weeks. With the fountain pen, I go through about a cartridge a week.

I took a lot of notes because I am a graduate student in math. I don't like taking notes with Bics, although the department provides them for free. I was using roller ball pens because I found them much easier to write with than ballpoints--and I was writing maybe 2-3 hours a day taking notes, plus maybe a few hours more working on homework (but not writing constantly). The main problem I had was keeping up with the speaker--it's hard to write that fast, that accurately, for that long!

The rollerballs were very loose, which made them easy to write with but hard to control. I found my handwriting got a little better with a fountain pen, and it was a bit easier to use--the fountain pen was pretty easy to use to write quickly, but didn't slide around as much as a rollerball. Also, the ink dried faster so I got less ink on my hands.

I think people who don't write (by hand) can't imagine what it would be like to write (by hand). A ballpoint is great if you never actually use it. Mathematics is, still to this day, primarily done by hand--the speaker often writes his notes by hand on a chalkboard; listeners then copy the notes on paper. Homework--calculations, proofs, etc.--is done on paper, primarily I think because the symbols don't work well with typing.

(LaTeX, the typesetting standard for math, has commands like, \int_a^b \int_{c+1}^d e^{2x + \sqrt{y}} \, dx dy, which is almost readable if you've used it a lot. But it's much easier to read and write the corresponding symbols.)