Hello from Singapore

silverxii

Hi!

I'm a student hailing from South East Asia, and completing my A levels soon. I wanted a fountain pen since very young as they looked so sleek and classy but didn't have a chance to get any due to the high prices and my parents didn't encourage the use of them as they were more troublesome than ballpoint/gel pens. However, I've decided that I want to jump onto this bandwagon because I think FPs can produce handwriting that has 'feeling' and they sorta show the characteristics of the person's writing better. Also, they're way cooler than ballpoint pens...

Anyway, I need help choosing a starter pen. I've worked with nib pens (just nib and holder, nothing else) and find them rather scratchy perhaps due to the need to constantly dip the nib into ink. So, I'd prefer something that is smooth, but not very smooth and I'd like to feel a little amount of 'feedback' from the paper (I like the feeling of writing).

So far I've considered the LAMY Vista Transparent/Safari Black, Parker Frontier. Any others that you guys recommend? I'd prefer a Fine nib, slight flex (or semi-flex) medium to light weight. I don't really need something aethestically pleasing. As long its not alien its fine with me...

Thanks in advance people :)

silverxii

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Readymade

• pingjun

• graceaj

• damien

Ooh... Thats great!

Are there more Singaporeans/SEA people here in FPN? I look forward to meeting you all :)

@pingjun: What pen are you using?

Welcome to FPN. Any of the pens you mentioned should be a fine starter pen.

"Work like you don't need the money. Love like you've never been hurt. Dance like nobody's watching." Satchel Paige, Baseball Hall of Fame Pitcher

Ooh... Thats great!

Are there more Singaporeans/SEA people here in FPN? I look forward to meeting you all :)

@pingjun: What pen are you using?

Hi. Currently. I own & use 17 FP.

They are:

2 Parker Vectors [1F, 1M]