Hello from Arizona

bugZ

Hello everyone,

I am VERY new to the world of fountain pens. It all began less than two months ago when I borrowed a pen that my husband kept in a travel bag for emergencies. It was not a fountain pen but I loved the way the ink flowed from the pen. He said "You need one of those fountain pens!" A what pen?

I soon forgot all about it but several days later a small box arrived for me which contained a Lamy AL-Star fine with a blue cartridge. He had heard that it is a good starter pen and being the first and only fountain pen I have used I think it's the best thing ever.

I went online and was just amazed at the ink choices available so I ordered two inexpensive Lamy inks and added orange scent to one and black cherry to another. I figure these will be fun to mess with. I also ordered the Noodler's Legal Lapis because it is a beautiful color and permanent. I purchased two converters as well.

What I have come to figure out is that I have lots of pretty ink and not enough pens!

I am now looking to expand my horizons and would welcome any suggestions as to what pen would be a good "next step". I have been reading and researching as much as possible and am leaning towards a vintage pen but I just don't know for sure.

Lisa

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• bugZ

• KendallJ

• Roger

• Ray

Top Posters In This Topic

The Pel 200 is a great start. You might also consider a Sheaffer Legacy or maybe a Sailor 1911M.

welcome and do stay a while!

Kendall Justiniano
Who is John Galt?

Welcome BugZ.

Just keep your eyes glued to the forum here, and based on what you read that agrees with your sense of values and priorities, you'll soon build a "Want List" that will be large, indeed! :D Soon you'll be so engrossed in FPs that when someone says something about a ball point pen, you'll say...A what point pen? :)

Edit: Oh, and where 'bouts in AZ? I'm down here south of Tucson, fighting to make the border secure.