Bexley Poseidon

NeoTiger

First Impressions

I'm sure a few people on FPN would've taken notice when the retailers of Bexley started advertising the Bexley Poseidon in the marketplace. Nice pen, vintage styling, and interesting resins. I'm no expert on vintage pens, but I assume the styling of this pen was based on old style Pelikans.

Anyway, I liked the look of the pen but didn't really like the range of resins offered, they just looked too messy. Tortoise was nice, but looked a bit mature for me. I also have a thing against gold trim, so don't even need to think about that. I then saw an eBay seller started offering the Bexley Poseidon in custom resins, including "B&B", Butterscotch, and White. I pounced on one of the earlier auctions for the Blue & Brown, and so ended up with pen #9 out of 28.

http://neotiger.orcon.net.nz/fountain/Poseidon1.jpg

Appearance & Finish

The appearance of the pen is very nice, excellent styling and beautiful resin. This resin was described as Blue & Brown by the seller, but since then the Bexley BX701 was introduced with this resin, and the colour named as Shimmer Blue. I'm not sure which would be the official name, as even the pen box was labelled as Blue & Brown by Bexley.

I would describe the resin as a delicious blend of blue water and brown chocolate, with the top and end caps being plain brown. I never thought I'd like a brown pen, and even now I'd rather the top and end cap were a darker shade of brown, but the overall appearance is very nice. The finish of the pen is top notch of course, as expected from Bexley.

http://neotiger.orcon.net.nz/fountain/Poseidon2.jpg

Design/Size