How can I rremove the blind cap on a Sheaffer TD?

lbrlux

Hi all,

I've bought a Silver capped Green Sheaffer Touchdown 1st year in very good shape and I'd like to restore it.

Unafortunately, I'm finding some troubles and ask for your help.

I can't take off the blind cap screwed to the Touchdown tube. It's very tight scewed. I've tried to force the screw, but it starts to get damaged.

That's the question: how can I replace the hardened o-ring and blind cap gasket if I can't take off the Touchdown tube? :bonk:

Any answer will be helpfull.

Thanks.

Luciano.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Keith with a capital K

• benfro

• Gerry

• lbrlux

Ok, I am no expert here....but I've done the repair recently so maybe I can help :D

I used a long thin screwdriver to unscrew the small screw holding the TD tube to the pen's barrel. Sometimes it can be a bit tricky to remove it...especially if the screwdriver is not in the correct position with regard to the screw's "slots", but it should come off.

Maybe someone else can chime in here...

Hi all,

I've bought a Silver capped Green Sheaffer Touchdown 1st year in very good shape and I'd like to restore it.

Unafortunately, I'm finding some troubles and ask for your help.

I can't take off the blind cap screwed to the Touchdown tube. It's very tight scewed. I've tried to force the screw, but it starts to get damaged.

That's the question: how can I replace the hardened o-ring and blind cap gasket if I can't take off the Touchdown tube? :bonk:

Any answer will be helpfull.

Thanks.

Luciano.

Dear Luciano,

You won't be able to replace the gasket without removing the tube. Make sure the tip of your screwdriver is a positive and tight fit with the screw cap. Steady force should cause it to work free. If it's really stubborn, try warming up the cap with a blowdryer. Heat it until it's warm to the touch and then try unscrewing it.