Pelikan Vintage Brown Turtleshell

Brinkmann

Need help identifying this pen please! Than you in advance. Also, if someone could tell me if 180 euros is a good price for one, be my guest! Cheers

Screenshot_20201014-232913~2.png

Screenshot_20201014-232916~2.png

Edited by Brinkmann

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• mana

• Carrau

• como

• sansenri

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Is that a mix-and-match with the cap and body? Modern flat-top cap and vintage round-finial barrel?

“I admit it, I'm surprised that fountain pens are a hobby. ... it's a bit like stumbling into a fork convention - when you've used a fork all your life.” 

rounded bottom = 400NN

Slightly round bottom = 400N

pretty flat bottom = 400

The relatively flat top makes me think your cap may not be original and be a cap from a vintage 400 (the cap got progressively pointier as the bottom of the barrel got rounder, but I am not really an expert, and it may just be a variation, but the barrel you have is 100% from a 400NN)

180 euro seems very, very steep unless it's in really superb condition. A nice user grade (no cracks or major scratches, relatively clear barrel) can be found for about $120USD very easily. Nib can add price, but that one appears to have the common (though still superb and one of my favorite nibs ever) EF semiflex. Something like a double broad semiflex will start to bump the price, but even then, you can find good deals. I got a vintage 400 with a double broad semiflex and stuck piston for $80 US. it needed nothing more than an overnight soak in warm water to be perfect.

I wouldn't pay 180 euro unless it was a new old stock pen with original box. These are common pens, don't get too hung up on finding one and be patient. If they're universally that expensive, consider looking at the UK or USA ebay sites. It costs me $13.50 to ship a pen anywhere in the world.

Edited by Honeybadgers