I Don't Understand This Practice By "professional" Vintage Pen Sellers

Paul-in-SF

This is more of a minor rant than a request for information. I mean, I probably do understand it, as sheer laziness, but it boggles me that they should do it.

And by "professional" vintage pen sellers, I'm talking about those who have a named online shop with an online catalog of the pens they have for sale, even if you have to email them to purchase the pen.

And the heinous practice? Selling pens without cleaning the ink out of them. Not that there's anything wrong with the pens, and I would certainly rinse them out myself anyway, but I really get peeved when I get a pen in the mail and instead of just rinsing it out, I have to clean out the last user's leftover ink.

I realize that for most or all of these folks, the online pen shop is at best a second income and at a minimum it may be only a hobby that allows them to see and test use a lot of different pens. Nevertheless! I am just a humble amateur and I wouldn't dream of sending someone a pen with leftover ink in it, whether it is a pay-it-forward gift or they bought the thing. Don't these purveyors have any pride or self-respect? End of rant.

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Ron Z

• JonSzanto

• Paul-in-SF

• Estycollector

Well, I suppose you could look at that residual ink as proof that the pen has been ''write'' tested, but it does seem a bit sloppy not to clean it out. I know when I'm prepping pens for sale at a show, I try to get them as ink-free as possible.

You never bought one from me, did you? All of the pens are restored and tested. The tested pens then get flushed, and then spun out in the centrifuge before before they're listed, let alone sold.

spacer.png
Visit Main Street Pens
A full service pen shop providing professional, thoughtful vintage pen repair...

Please use email, not a PM for repair and pen purchase inquiries.

Hi Paul,