A Slight Departure From The Usual First Fountain Pen Thread

Chouffleur

A friend of ours has a daughter about to graduate from high school. So I want to buy her a fountain pen as a graduation present.

Ordinarily I'd pick either a Lamy Al-Star or Lamy 2000 as a first fountain pen in line with the usual advice I see here on such matters.

This is a special occasion so I'd like to buy her something a bit grander. Unfortunately I'm a vintage person (in more ways than one) so I have little knowledge of actual made-in-the-last-few-years fountain pens.

I'd like to buy her something whose name she'd recognize as a gift to be treasured when she eventually gets around to using it. To me that would mean something like a Pelikan or a Montblanc. While I would think something like a Wahl Doric or a Parker 75 Premier Athenes would be epic I doubt that she would.

My initial thought was something like the Pelikan Star Ruby M205 but I wasn't sure if that would work for her hand size.

Here is what I know about her:

Glove size: Large

Color preference: Pink

Handwriting size: Average->Large

Thick or thin line when writing: On the thicker side

Given those variables and the big-present-status-requirement what do you suggest?

Thanks

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Arkanabar

• basterma

• LuckyKate

• Estycollector

Might I suggest a TWSBI Diamond 580 or a TWSBI Eco with a medium or broad nib? I know that neither pen looks vintage at all or anywhere close to a Mont Blanc or a Pelikan but they do have a bit of shine and sparkle. Also, both models are piston fillers. They hold a ton of ink and the demonstrator barrel allows watching the ink slosh back and forth. It looks modern enough that a young person today can feel confident they won't look dowdy using it and its design is sleek like something out of the Apple Store.