Adding Water To Ink?

corgicoupe

Is there a Rule of Thumb about how much water one can add to an almost-empty bottle of ink and still have a usable ink? Is it brand dependent? Color dependent?

Baptiste knew how to make a short job long

For love of it. And yet not waste time either.

Robert Frost

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• sansenri

• corgicoupe

• Arkanabar

• Olya

Yep. All of those apply.

Start slowly drip drip drip 💧 and dip a nib in to test regularly. 1 or 2 mls should do it.

if you go too far, leave the bottle open a while to evaporate until the ink density goes back to normal ... :)

I have read that Noodler's inks can be diluted with water to double (!!!!) the amount of ink, which comes in bottles without affecting colour (or performance).

That is the only brand wide suggestion I know of.

But I have only read that, I have no experience at all with any Noodler's ink.

Otherwise it is saturation dependant, I'd say.

Eg washable blue ink is pretty unsaturated, so dilution is difficult, unless a pale colour is desired.

Saturated inks can handle more dilution (I have diluted Diamine Majestic Blue once).

As Tas said, start slowly.

And sansenri is also right, of course. But keep an eye on ink you let evaporate, I did that once and was surprised how quickly it reduced.

To add. I have several inks that I regularly dilute in sample vials, 4:1, 3:1, 3;2, 5:3, 1:1. Lots of fun!

If you're out and about and run out of ink, a half fill of water should see you through.

Add lightness and simplicate.

This is a bottle of Visconti blue that I bought several years ago and was just about gone. The bottle is so unstable by design that I figured I wouldn't be losing much if it didn't work. Why make a top-heavy plastic bottle? I may wrap some solder around the narrow base to increase the stability. It is a nice ink though.

Robert Frost