Vintage Pen Suggestions...

danielbird193

Hello FPN'ers. I'm still quite new to fountain pens and would like to purchase a vintage model. Can anyone help steer me in the direction of a model which would meet the following requirements?

1. Sturdy, reliable writer for everyday use in the office.

2. Larger size (similar to, say, a modern Lamy Safari or at least a Pelikan M600. The only vintage pen I currently own, a Sheaffer Balance, is too small to be comfortable for extended periods.

3. Smooth, wet nib (preferably gold, but not essential).

4. I'm in the UK so like the thought of a Britsh-made pen (Parker or Conway Stewart?), but again this is a preference rather than an absolute requirement.

Would love to hear from anyone more experienced than me with some ideas about what might suit my needs. Also with any recommendations about where to find a well priced model, given that eBay seems to be such a gamble these days.

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• danielbird193

• usk15

• corgicoupe

• gweimer1

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I would opt for Parker 51 or a Duofold Senior/Maxima form the 50's. Also consider a Vacumatic Oversize, but more expensive.

Other Parker models are smaller.

Check here: http://penamie.co.uk/html/parker/parker.html

Thank you for the suggestions. I'm not keen on the hooded nib of the 51 but the Duofold is definitely on the list. What filling system do those ones have?

Aurora 88 / 88K / 88P from the 50s are reliable, comfortable, piston fill pens with semi-hooded nibs.

Various Pelikans from the period are great buys, also piston fill of course.

To go British, a later period Onoto 62xx is usually reliable (plunge filler aka vacuum fill) and the 6235 a delight.