Pelikan Colors For Business Setting

DCirjan

Hey,

After a lot of years time as a researcher, I am forced to enter a (even) more conservative, quasi-corporatist environnent. It is a rather strange change for me, but I was wondering about something. My EDC pen in the last years has been a M205 in blue marble: I like it more than my M1000 urushis or my vintage 700. I like the style, the color: plus I am not a big fun of big pens, as I grew up using vintage-sized pens. My issue is whether you would consider the M205 to be appropriate for a very conservative work environment: I like the elegance of the colors, more than the Souverens in Blue, but the pearlescent shiny effect might be too much. For people more accustomed to a classical business setting, what do you think: is the M205 too much, are the shiny effects too much on the "showy" side of life?

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• DCirjan

• Tom Kellie

• Karmachanic

• Bo Bo Olson

~ Pasenow:

Although my career has also been as a researcher, it was never in a corporate setting.

Like you, I'm not a fan of larger fountain pens. Pelikans MXXX models are ideal for many of my writing needs.

Two months ago I gave a Pelikan M205 Blue Marble to a long-time friend who is a Head of School in the United States.

Next year he'll relocate to northern Africa to another Head of School position.

He told me that his M205 Blue Marble is ideal for his workplace setting.

It's very slightly flashy, yet sufficiently understated to fit in well in a sedate office.

I admire the discreet elegance of the type of fountain pen you have.

Thank you for asking this question. It caused me to pause and think.

Tom K.

Get a Black M205 as back-up, and fill it with subversive ink. KWZ Walk Over Vistula for instance. :)

Add lightness and simplicate.