Getting Brave... With A Preppy & A ?

essayfaire

I have a Pilot EF that I think needs a bit of smoothing, but I am scared to death of ruining it. I bought a micro-mesh pad and decided to have a go at a Platinum Preppy that is in a color I don't use. Then I decided since I was already messing around with the pen that I might as well try to eyedropper it, something I have never done before. I used silicone grease and all seemed to be well except later on I noticed some ink spots on my hands, so I think it is leaking somewhere. I do hold my pens fairly close to the nibs. I can't find an o-ring in an appropriate size so I have temporarily added some plumber's tape but that is unsightly and makes it harder to cap the pen.

Below is a photo, minus the plumber's tape. I think the smoothing went well but was not excessive, but I still need to come up with a better seal for the eyedropper; I'm trying to work up the courage to smooth out the Pilot EF a bit. The ink is Diamine Oxblood, which I'm testing out and seems quite nice.

Do people add a ball to their eyedroppered pens to help keep the ink from drying up?

post-136377-0-29251800-1573425581_thumb.jpg

Festina lente

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• essayfaire

• bemon

• Paganini

• fkyu

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images