The Difference An Ink Can Make

MadAsAHatter

Not that this would be anything new to you all, but since I'm still new to fountain pens & Inks I'm just now getting to experience this first hand. What a difference the type of ink you use, even within the same brand, can make with the performance of a pen. I made my first bigger step up in pen and acquired a Platinum 3776 in a fine nib with the gold leaf dragon on. I was excited as this was my first gold nib pen. A soon as it came in I inked it with Noodler's Tolstoy. As I made my first few pen strokes my happiness started to turn to disappointment. I did not like the way it wrote, dry, sratchy & skipping like mad. Maybe it was me getting used to a new pen so I gave it a couple days. I still had the same bad experience and started thinking I just dropped a chunk of money on a horrible pen. Then I remembered people talking about finding the right pen/ink combo, so let me try a different ink. I flushed the Tolstoy ink out and refilled with Noodlers Legal Blue. The change in performance was like night and day. Inked with legal blue it wrote like a dream. The nib glided across the page with just the right amount of feedback and no skipping whatsoever. I couldn't be any more happy. The 3776 has now become the favorite in my small collection & I'm using it just about every day. Being inexperienced you would assume that ink is ink, it should all work the same and put down a line. It really is amazing how much the type of ink can change your writing experience. Like I said, I'm sure this is nothing new or surprising to the rest of you. I just wanted to share my quick story.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Arkanabar

• Bibliophage

• DrDebG

• MadAsAHatter

Top Posters In This Topic