Seeeking Recommendation: Nicer Than Pilot Metro, Yet Less Expensive Than Custom 912

DigitalArchivist

Hello all, I'm writing to ask for a Japanese pen recommendation. I'm fairly new to fountain pens, learning with Pilot Metros until my recent purchase of a Pilot Custom Heritage 912 with the "FA" Falcon nib, which I've been enjoying quite a bit, and this is my first post here. I'm looking for a third pen, smoother and softer than the Metro, but less expensive than the 912 (say between $50 and $150) while retaining some of the 912's softness/flex, yet a finer line-width closer to the Metro's fine. Thanks!

post-154126-0-07258000-1571975575_thumb.jpg

Edited by DigitalArchivist

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• awa54

• LostArk

• OmegaMountain

• DigitalArchivist

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Custom 74 with a SF nib?

"Words can light fires in the minds of men. Words can wring tears from the hardest hearts." - Patrick Rothfuss

I'll second the suggestion of a Pilot Custom 74. I have one with a broad nib and a Custom Heritage 91 in Soft Medium (same nib as the 74, but rhodium plated), both are excellent writers, just different barrel, cap and clip shapes. I really like the soft medium. As a bonus they also use the excellent CON-70 vac converter.

David-

So many restoration projects...

If you already have a 912, I'd suggest possibly branching out brand-wise. Take a look at the Platinum 3776 Soft Fine.

Firstly, welcome to the madness.

To stick with Japanese manufacturers, consider a Sailor 1911 Large with an extra-fine nib. These pens have a 'wow' factor that will spoil you for anything else. But they're not what I would call flex. In fact, I wouldn't even try to flex them. In addition, you'll probably have to order from Japan to keep it under 150.