New Cross Peerless

Marten

Hi there.

I have been admiring this pen for a good 18 months. Never purchased as I felt the cost was a bit steep. Then a couple of weeks ago, I was in the market for an additional Visconti converter and as luck would have it, the overseas Dealer I tracked one down at, also had the Peerless at a reasonable price. So, to cut this short, I ended up with a Visconti converter, a Cross converter, bottles of ink and... a Cross Peerless with a medium nib.

I took a few pics to show comparative nib line width and overall pen size of the Cross as there appears to be a lot of questions pertaining to this. Essentially the Peerless medium line width is a hair smaller than that of the Sonnet medium nib.

I have been using this for two weeks now and must admit that it is really a great pen. Size, fit and weight suits me almost perfectly. I received an Aurora 88 this week, something I thought would possibly be a more ideal pen but honestly, I am still reaching for the Peerless in favour of the Aurora. The pencil/graphite like feeling of the Sailor nib on paper is intoxicating and I am absolutely loving it.

Pens used in the comparison were basically those I had in my current rotation.

Ink used;

Sonnet - Pilot Iroshizuku Ku-Jaku

Montblanc - Diamine Blue Velvet

Duofold Centennial - Edelstein Aquamarine

Peerless - Sailor Yama-Dori

post-141637-0-39582800-1570807806_thumb.jpg

post-141637-0-37325000-1570807820_thumb.jpg

post-141637-0-14198100-1570807834_thumb.jpg

post-141637-0-26485500-1570807846_thumb.jpg

post-141637-0-25072600-1570807858_thumb.jpg

Edited by Marten

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• bemon

• Marten

• Tseg

• sandy101

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Congratulations on the new pen! It's a stunner. Like you, I've been thinking about buying this one for over a year now, but I haven't quite made the commitment yet. But each time I see it live, I cave just a little bit more.