sharktm

I will start with some background. I graduated from collage about a year ago and have really slowed in using my pens. I have recently really missed having a reason to put pen to paper and have started to look into getting into letter writing. Other then being of a generation where the pen has been mostly pushed aside for the latest iPhone leading to me not having the best handwriting I have one very dumb question. How important is it to use proper stationary? I only ask as I dont want to seem rude writing on plane printer paper or some other easily accessible paper as long as its not notebook paper.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ParramattaPaul

• D B Holtz

• sharktm

• Karmachanic

Top Posters In This Topic

Mate, I once wrote a letter on the remnants of brown wrapping paper with a grease pencil. Admittedly, that was 1968, I was in the 'Bush's in Vietnam, and that was all any of us had.

I think good stationery does matter. It's like wrapping a present in nice paper, rather than the bag they gave you at the store. Right now I have correspondence cards from Crane, for short notes and thank-yous, and Old Crown Mill for longer letters. Even if your recipient doesn't notice, it's nicer stuff to write on for you.

DB

• 3 weeks later...

I love stationery, from Crane and Papyrus letter sheets to various notecards and correspondence cards. I also send postcards whenever I'm traveling. Using those various papers make my writing special for ME. However, several of my penpals are wedded to notebook paper. I am happy to read their words on whatever they want to write on/with. It doesn't matter to me how their work comes, but it does matter to me what I use because my writing time is special to me.

Sharon in Indiana

"There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man; true nobility is being superior to your former self." Earnest Hemingway