Pelikan M815 Help!

TDOTDAN

Was hoping to get some advice from a few Pelikan experts as Im a novice!

I just received a brand new M815 in the mail today... beautiful pen! However, it didnt write...at all!

I figured it needed a flush...so that what I did (with cold water)

That seemed to do the trick at first. After a few pages of relatively smooth writing, the pen started to hard start and skip like crazy. At times it wont write entire words!

Does this sound like a flow issue that might be solved by flushing the pen again...or am I dealing with a major issue? Im attaching a few pictures of the nib. It looks pretty good to me... but what do I know!

Have to say... this is pretty disappointing from a pen with a fairly high price tag!!

Any advice would be much appreciated!!post-137878-0-97671600-1569110783_thumb.jpegpost-137878-0-30774000-1569110811_thumb.jpeg

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Gobblecup

• jaytaylor

• Tom Kellie

• dbs

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

What ink are you using? The tines look awfully tight to my preferences, however, it may also be a case of babys bottom on the tipping. Have you tried another ink?

Edited by Gobblecup

Gobblecup ~

I’m using a Diamine turquoise ink that has behaved pretty well in other pens. Maybe I’ll try another ink to see if that’s the issue. I never even considered baby’s bottom...

Could the paper I’m using affect the pen’s performance? I was writing on Clairefontaine paper...which is pretty smooth. The pen performed a bit better when I wrote on some cheap copy paper.

Sometimes it can be a combination of dry ink and slick paper and not the nib at all! Troubleshoot these lesser issues first, if they don't fix the problem move onto what might be at fault with the nib itself. Let us know how a different ink behaves on a different paper. I find that even some of my best pens and good inks complain on slicker papers.

Gobblecup ~