Lamy Nib Question

LiquidInk

First, sorry if there is a better question section to post, but I figured the Lamy section for a Lamy nib question would work.

I recently got a Lamy nexx, and I'm in love with it.

I'm wanting to buy another lamy but my issue is that I got the Nexx in the beginner nib. And I can't find this nib size on other pens, all I've seen is EF/F/M/B. Hoping someone can help me on this, but what would be the closest to the "A" nib in size/smoothness? I've read that the beginner nib is somewhere between the fine and medium nib, but what about the smoothness due to the ball tip?

Since I'm new to fountain pens (been using pilot varsity mostly up until now), I worry about not having the correct angle when writing and it staying smooth. Trying to find a nib that has enough forgiveness to be smooth from different angles (reason I've stuck with the varsity's ball tipping). A lot of my writing is done on a clipboard but since I handhold it, it isn't always at the best angle. When I tried other pens, the nib stabs into the paper on the up stroke when making checkmarks for example.

Or is there somewhere to buy replacement beginner "A" nibs? all I've seen on goulet/ebay/amazon/etc are the EF/F/M/B as replacement nibs, but no one is selling the "A" nib.

edit: extra information, the other pen that I've found that "works" is the hero 70/360 pens due to the 4 directional writing. But... that pen isn't really great. I was looking at the Lamy Logo due to it being a similar size as the Hero 70 so it's easier to keep in a notebook than the Lamy Nexx.

Edited by LiquidInk

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• LiquidInk

• Inkysloth

• Jip

• View from the Loft

The A nib stands for Beginner (starts with an A in German) and the next logical progression is the M nib. So a z50 M is the next closest to an A nib, technically speaking.