Pilot Iroshizuku Inks

Citroen

Relatively new to this fountain pen forum, although I've been using fountain pens for probably over 40 years now.

Just renewed my interest and got some Pilot Iroshizuku ink. Love them!

OoAjMMP.jpg?1

Edited by Citroen

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• N1003U

• LyaT

• Says

• Linger

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Aren't they wonderful? Probably my favorite brand of ink and almost all I use now unless I need permanence and then I use MB Permanent Blue or Hero 232 Iron Gall Blue Black.

We Are Our Ancestors’ Wildest Dreams

I love Asa Gao, it's the only one I have had a chance to try. It does seem like most people find these inks to be exceptional.

I have tried most of the iroshizuku inks, and yes, they are good inks, but there’s plenty of good ink in this world. Given its price point I fail to see why iroshizuku ink is exceptional and personally I don’t see what makes it better than Sailor or even the lower-priced brands like Diamine or Herbin. In my experience, inks like Diamine Misty Blue or Herbin Bleu Nuit perform just as well, at a fraction of the price. The only one I use is shin-kai, which I will only buy at a steep discount, and that only because P4001 blue-black (which is almost indistinguishable in colour) is a very dry ink that contains iron gall, whereas shin-kai is pleasantly wet and does not contain iron gall (at least as far as I know it doesn’t).

Iroshizuku is my favorite line of inks too, together with Montblanc ice cube bottles.

Iro inks are very vivid in color, consistently wet, great flow. I love Yu-Yaki, Ama-Iro, and Kon-Peki.

I have two small bottles of Sailor four seasons inks. I absolutely hate that smell! I use wet pens, with a lot of ink on paper, the sailor smell is too strong. I read about it before buying sailor inks, but I thought chemical smell cannot be too bad. What a mistake! They are sitting in a shoebox now, together with other mistakes.