A Country Physicist

rebcabin

I'm a newcomer to the network, but not to fountain pens. I'm a physicist who acquired a Meisterstuck 149 Medium as a birthday present from my wife in 1974. Every month, "Scientific American" featured an advert about the pen, and my heart yearned for it. There was a spike in gold prices after the Arab oil embargo, and the price of the pen jumped from $44 (a fortune for us at the time) to (I think) $136 (unattainable) or maybe $188 (beyond impossible), and I despaired of ever having one. A very kind and generous jeweler on Hollywood Boulevard in California sold it to my wife at the old price the day after the price jump. He knew that I had looked at it repeatedly in his shop, and I think he enjoyed the conspiracy with her. Perhaps you can imagine my surprise, relief, and delight when she gave it to me months later. It's an emotional memory. I have used it daily since then, and it is a precious partner and heirloom.

Over the decades, I accumulated just a few more pens: a vintage Parker cartridge pen in knurled sterling silver (I don't know the model number), a transparent Schaeffer cartridge pen with a gold Medium nib in deep royal purple (again, I don't know the model number, but I know I bought it from Levenger in the 90's), and a Namiki vanishing point in dark blue with gold trim. They all work great, but I keep coming back to the 149. I have big hands and a slow, flowing, ballistic writing style, so the weight and girth of the 149 really suit me. I trained as an artist as a youngster, and I really care about the appearance of my handwriting. Because I write a lot of mathematics, clarity and precision are paramount values.