How Do You Write With A Fountain Pen?

Blue-Black

I'm new to fountain pens and I was wondering if there is a good technique when it comes to writing with them. Do you move your fingers when you write or just your arm or wrist?

Thank you,
Blue-Black

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Dmact

• Bo Bo Olson

• Bibliophage

• Cast

There's no officially wrong way as long as you're holding the pen with the shiny part of the nib facing up. Doing it the other way is called "reverse writing" and only some pens can really do it very well.

And don't press down. A properly tuned fountain pen shouldn't need any pressure to write.

That said, fingertip writing is usually a habit we learn from ballpoints that require a lot of pressure. Fountain pens don't need pressure to write, so you should try to start relaxing your fingers and using your wrist and forearm.

Edited by Honeybadgers

Selling a boatload of restored, fairly rare, vintage Japanese gold nib pens, click here to see (more added as I finish restoring them)

I'm new to fountain pens and I was wondering if there is a good technique when it comes to writing with them. Do you move your fingers when you write or just your arm or wrist?

Thank you,

Blue-Black

Blue-Black......For your consideration..write with it as you write with your Parker "51". Hope you got rid of that smell.

As a matter of usual practice...wrist

Fred

Edited by Freddy

For me it is arm, but I was taught a long time ago how to write.

generally, arm on the table, and hand doing the work, fingertips outstretched with the section gently held. Most of my writing is done with the fingers, rather than ball point "clutch" style with the wrist or entire arm.

Using arm and wrist tends to make for smoother loops, which are especially important in artful text such as copperplate and spencerian text.