Experience With Nakaya Elastic Music?

Wadude

So Im readying myself to bit the bullet and purchase my first Nakaya. I have my eyes on an elastic Music nib.

Now, Ive seen a few people mention in this forum that they have it, but I couldnt find quite a review for that specific customization (besides a good one from 2006 that is, unfortunately, missing the photos for the writing sample).

Anyone care to share their experience? Does the semi-flex add any flair to the writing? Is it difficult to use? Is it a smooth writer?

Cheers!

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Wadude

• Says

• Uncial

• Honeybadgers

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I have no experience with that particular nib but would think that this not the pen to experiment with. I got mine with a standard broad made to as smooth as possible. And it is... beyond any doubt.... the most amazing nib in my desk. I will never tire of using it. IMHO anyway

Thanks for weighing in. I was also considering a coarse (extra broad) nib. A few Japanese friends have been singing the highest of praises to the elastic Music, but since I wont be writing in Japanese... I dont know to what extent the experience compares.

Interesting. I think Kanji looks weird as hell with a stub nib. I also don't much love cursive with a stub. Personally, my handwriting looks best when printing with a stub. (the music is a stub)

I can't find a video of it anywhere. I'd be really interested to see one though. If it's actually flexible and three tines, It'd be very high on my list.

Edited by Honeybadgers

Selling a boatload of restored, fairly rare, vintage Japanese gold nib pens, click here to see (more added as I finish restoring them)