A New Pfm

AD43

I recently got this (in fact it just arrived today by special delivery) a PFM 2 from Carneil Pens.

The photo quality is not great (mac webcam) so I may upload more and better quality pictures.

post-134478-0-27848700-1563444243_thumb.jpgpost-134478-0-32393500-1563444253_thumb.jpg

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• PaulS

• AD43

• eharriett

• BaronWulfraed

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I have two - a Mk. III and V, and the nibs on both have a very slight upward lean - yours doesn't appear to be any different, unless the pix are misleading, so all would seem to be o.k. Nice pen by the way.

Edited by PaulS

some pix that might be of vague interest re Sheaffer's take on up-turning their nib tips. As an ignoramous on most things Sheaffer, I've little or no knowledge of why this company have evolved their own nib profiles - other than the obvious thought that lifting the tip a shade helps with smoothness. Like most things, not a new idea - goes back to somewhere in the middle of the C19 and appears to have been an invention of Macniven & Cameron as a solution to the problem of steel dip nibs digging heavily into the paper when writing.

So a flexible and upturned nib point - but without tipping material - proved more usable than those without. This invention was intended apparently for dip nibs only, and in theory, at least, a well made 14 ct. nib, with good tipping material shouldn't need this tilted profile, but maybe it's proven to be so indelibly associated with Sheaffer that it's become 'their' selling feature. My indebtedness to Deborah Gibson of 'goodwriters pens' for allowing me to steal the above references to M. & C., without asking - thank you Deborah.

Attached are three pix showing ………….