The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Easiest Non Invasive Way To Remove Sac And Shellac Remnants?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Spartcom5

Spartcom5

Near Mint

• Member - Silver

• PipPipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 12 July 2019 - 03:06

I am very new to restoring pens and am only starting on lever fills. I have removed the section from the barrel of the pen and ran into this situation. Much of the sac with shellac is still on the section. I saw a video where a guy scraped at is with a razor to remove the large chunks and then got some very fine emery cloth and cleaned up the small amount remaining. Well, I scraped at it and honestly it isn't budging. What should I do to remove this going forward? The blade worked nicely on another pen but inevitably left marks on the plastic underneath.

20190711_193654_resized.jpg 20190711_193700_resized.jpg

Edited by Spartcom5, 12 July 2019 - 03:07.

Sponsored Content

#2 praxim

praxim

On twig

• FPN Supporter - Rhodium

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,998 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 12 July 2019 - 03:46

You need a clean edge but not a fine blade to chip that off; a scraper, not a cutter. A dental pick or similar can help start the process. Scrape and chip patiently, finish with fine grit. It is often preferable to clamp or wedge-support either the pen or the tool, so you have fine control of angle, movement and pressure.

Anyone owning three or more working pens is in no position to disparage choices by others.

#3 Greenie

Greenie

Collectors Item

• FPN Mabie Todd Group Moderators

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,305 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 12 July 2019 - 04:56