How Do You Choose The Pen You Are Using?

MadAsAHatter

I have a stand on my desk that holds 5 pens which works perfectly since I only have 5 fountain pens. I keep them all inked up and pick up one at random when I need one. I like the way they all write and the colors I have in them and I don't have a favorite, so that all get pretty equal use.

How do you all rotate through your pens? Do you do something similar to me and pick up one at random when you need? Do you have several inked up and use one per day/week? Do you keep only one inked and use it until it runs out then switch?

Just curious about how all of you rotate though the pens you use, especially those with larger collections.

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• pajaro

• essayfaire

• bemon

• Dont_Flexme

I have two P51's. One is permanently inked with blue ink and another with black. These are my go to work pens - for formal correspondence and such like. On top of that I have a Diplomat Excellence with Pelikan blue-black which has a little more water resitance than most to use for addresses and postcards.

Other than that, the rest of the pens get whatever ink I fancy - purple, green and browns.

The pistons tend to keep the same colours as, much like the P51's, it's just so much easier that way.

So, if I am at work - it has to be a pen with blue or black ink loaded - and it has to work on a wide range of paper. I find Quink or Platinum's inks ideal for that - a wet pen is out of the question as to much ink will just bleed & feather as well. So, the P51 or P45 (with fine nib) seem to be ideal.

At home, I've got better paper - so the broad nibbed Izumo comes out to play - and it is more to do with the colour I fancy writing with than the pen. Journals/reviews get done in whatever colour comes to hand. Personal correspondence too.

So, the biggest influence is the ink - and the type of paper I'm likely to come across.

Edited by sandy101